Michael S. Doran's Family History Blog

Connections that matter

Letter dated July 17, 1864 from Robert Doran to parents James and Rebecca Doran

leave a comment »

 CAIRO
JULY 17, 1864

Dear Father & Mother:

I once more take my pen in hand to let you know that I am well at present and hope these few lines will find you all enjoying the same blessing.  I received your letter dated the tenth on the day before yesterday and I was glad to hear from you.

I heard that Andy was wounded about a week ago, but did not know whether it was so or not till you wrote it.

 Wrote to Henry Grife to know where he has gone and to know whether his wound was dangerous or not and I expect a letter from him in a day or two.

 Well father soldiern agrees with me.  I have gained eight pounds within a week.

 Well there is no news here to write only the boys are well and sends their best respects to all the folks.  When you write again tell me how Frank and Johnny is and whether they go to school now or not.  Time seems short to me down here for when I get up in the morning I hardly have time to turn around before it is night.

From your son
         
R. Doran

to his father and mother.

 Well father the mail has just come since I finished this letter and Newton Tanguary got a letter from his brother that is in the eighty-sixth Reg. and he stated that Andy has his right arm amputated.  If that is the case he will be home as soon as he is able.  I hope it is not so.

Goody bye

 Write soon and tell me what news you get.

Robert Doran

Written by Michael S. Doran

September 8, 2010 at 11:56 pm

Leave a Reply

